What's happening, Mebi?

Just talking about what's been happening while I was offline here.

Posted on: 2024-03-16

Heya! Been quite a while. Many stuff has been happening while I was away from Neocities. Some small, some big. I'll also will talk about what will happen to this site in the near future. Don't worry, as of now, I don't have any plans to stop working on this site, there so much to be worked on!


Explaining my absence here

Different stuff has been happening in my life while I was away. These times would suddenly get more tougher, but I've managed to get over it. I've slightly lost interest in working on my site to make way for other interests, like drawing, playing games, and eventually coding (to make games), and learning how to animate. Oh yeah, school has been getting in my way; just trying to get the work and shoving that away for me to... watch videos on YouTube. Most of the drawings that I made are usually just doodles; I usually don't share those at first.


Learning how to make games

I'm not going to go too in depth with this part, maybe it's best for it to be it's own dedicated article.

Recently I've decided to learn how to make games using the Godot game engine. What's Godot you may ask? Well, it's a free and open source engine; it's got a lot of potential in making 2D and 3D games. I wanted to learn something new, so I chose that. Took some time for me to learn the basics of the scripting language it uses (GDScript). Right now, I'm kinda proud with what I've created, despite it being pretty scuffed. If it weren't for the resources out there, I wouldn't have make it this far. And now, some preview of the small game:

The Godot editor screen viewing my game.

Playing the game, viewing the bare scene with two npcs scattered around.

Dialogue test. The NPC is saying: THE VOICES OF THE VOID IS COMING

(Fun fact: Those faceless and kinda creepy characters have a name, PHC. (Stands for Place-holder Character). I was too lazy to add a face for whatever reason.)

Right now I'm just playing around with the editor and learning GDScript. A story of some sort is not in place.


The important part: What will happen to this site?

I do not have any plans to stop working on this site whatsoever, I just take long breaks until the motivation to continue working on my site hits again. This site still has potential to hosting the different I might want to share, like this blog, oc archiving*, webcomics, etc. and all of that stuff! These kind of stuff may slowly appear in the future.

*I have my own toyhouse account now, which is an oc hosting site. This site may serve as an alternative oc archive; but I'm yet to make a final decision.

Anyways, hope y'all doing well. See you again later!